Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

FPST Students Receive NFPA Research Award, Waller Scholarship and SFPE Scholarship

(STILLWATER, Okla., July 5, 2016) - Victoria Hutchison and Mustafa Alsadah, seniors of fire protection & safety engineering technology, were selected as winners of the NFPA Undergraduate Fire Research Award. Both of them received a stipend in the amount of $2,000 and the award also paid for travel to NFPA’s Annual Conference & Exposition (June 14, 2016 in Las Vegas), where both of them showcased their research projects to more than 3,000 fire and electrical safety professionals.
Gregory Held, FPSET major, has received the $4,000 2016 Thomas S. Waller Memorial Scholarship from the Center for Life Safety Education (CLSE). The scholarship was established in 2005 to honor the man who devoted more than 40 years to the fire protection industry. It has provided approximately $35,000 to OSU FPSET students. The scholarship is presented to juniors or seniors enrolled in the FPSET program, which is the oldest fire/safety-related program in North America and is the nation’s first ABET-accredited fire protection & safety technology program.
Qingtong Liu and Shiyun Wu have received the scholarship from the Society of Fire Protection Engineers Greater Atlanta Chapter. As part of the chapter’s university award program, $1,000 scholarships are awarded to the most qualified applicants enrolled in the FPSET programs at OSU, University of Maryland (UMD), Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) and other qualified colleges and universities.