Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University


OSU FPST Students Win National Scholarships from the ASSE Foundation

(STILLWATER, Okla., March 27, 2017) Two Fire Protection and Safety Technology students have been awarded scholarships from the American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation.

Katharine Jolly was awarded the UPS scholarship and the Archie Moore Scholarship. These combined scholarships totaled over $6000 in funds to be used for tuition, fees and other educational expenses.

Hongen Zhou was award the Nick D. Yin Scholarship which included $3000 in funds to be used for educational expenses.

OSU’s Fire Protection and Safety Partners with University in China

(STILLWATER, Okla., March 2, 2017) – Oklahoma State University College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology’s Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology (FPSET) program established a joint degree between OSU and Southwest Jiaotong University in China. A signing ceremony with the presidents and deans of both universities will take place in Chengdu, China, in April.

Graduate Program Announcement

(STILLWATER, Okla., December 6, 2016) It is with great pleasure to announce that the Graduate Program in Fire Safety and Explosion Protection (FSEP) was officially approved in the State Regents’ meeting on December 1, 2016. This is a milestone event in the history of OSU Fire Protection & Safety.

Nanjing Tech University Delegation Visits OSU Fire Protection & Safety

Nanjing Tech University Delegation Visits OSU Fire Protection & Safety

Dr. Sam Wang has been awarded a Certificate of Excellence in Reviewing from Elsevier

(STILLWATER, Okla., October 18, 2016) - Dr. Sam Wang has been awarded a Certificate of Excellence in Reviewing from Elsevier and the Editor of Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries. Only awarded once a year to a small hand-picked selection of reviewers by the journal Editor, this accolade is recognition of outstanding contributions to the peer review process and the quality of the journal.

Stillwater Fire intern receives scholarship from International Association of Fire Chiefs

(STILLWATER, OKLAHOMA / AUGUST 25, 2016) – The City of Stillwater recognizes fire department intern Ashley Evans, who recently received a scholarship from the International Association of Fire Chiefs.

Evans is a senior studying fire protection and safety engineering technology at Oklahoma State University. She has interned with the Stillwater Fire Department since October 2014.

FPST ConocoPhillips Distinguished Speaker Series

Date: September 29, 2016, 7:00-8:00 PM
Location:  265 Student Union Ballroom, Oklahoma State University

Open to the public.

Wang Named Editor of Journal of Safety, Health and Environmental Research

(STILLWATER, Okla., July 12, 2016) - Dr. Qingsheng “Sam” Wang has been named as the new Editor of Journal of Safety, Health and Environmental Research (JSHER). Wang is Dale F. Janes Associate Professor of Fire Protection & Safety and Graduate Faculty of Chemical Engineering. His research work has primarily focused on fire protection and process safety engineering, including thermal analysis, flame retardants, fire suppression, emergency evacuation and quantitative risk analysis.

FPST Students Receive NFPA Research Award, Waller Scholarship and SFPE Scholarship

(STILLWATER, Okla., July 5, 2016) - Victoria Hutchison and Mustafa Alsadah, seniors of fire protection & safety engineering technology, were selected as winners of the NFPA Undergraduate Fire Research Award. Both of them received a stipend in the amount of $2,000 and the award also paid for travel to NFPA’s Annual Conference & Exposition (June 14, 2016 in Las Vegas), where both of them showcased their research projects to more than 3,000 fire and electrical safety professionals.

Alumnus Rixio Medina elected Senior VP of ASSE

Rixio Medina holds a bachelor’s degree in Fire Protection and Safety Engineering from Oklahoma State University and a master’s degree in industrial security from the University of Central Missouri. He is a certified safety professional, certified protection professional and a Fellow of ASSE. Medina served as a presidential appointee to the U.S. Chemical Safety Board and was president of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals. He was introduced to the CEAT Hall of Fame in 2013 and recognized as a Distinguished Alumni by the OSU Alumni Association in 2009.